[IELTS] Is air travel only benefit for the richest people?

In the present-day society, it is believed that air travel has become the best way to travel a far distance. But meanwhile, many people assert that travelling by air is only for the people who are rich and who can afford it while others cannot take advantage of it. Personally, I think the view is overly simplistic.

Convincing arguments can be made that taking flights is more economical for travelers for some reaons . Firstly, the economic advancing has boosted the living costs to a high level. It is not cheap anymore to buy a train ticket or ship ticket when you are traveling a long distance, not to mention the travel expense for meals on the journey. Meanwhile, it is not uncommon to buy a discount ticket if you book in advance, which can even save more money than by other transports. Furthermore, the stiff competition between each airplane companies also put the flight prices down enormously. They tend to make a price campaign globally and manly target on average-income population. Eventually, more and more common people are choosing airplane to travel, even it is economical-class, and that also brings a vast of benefits to the air firms and encourages them to continue this trend.

Admittedly, the market price of flight tickets is normally high so that the majority people have to choose cheaper means to travel. The main reason for this is that the costs of fuel and human resources in each flying are comparatively higher than that of other ordinary transports. In addition, no matter how fast the airplane can fly, it is not practical for people who only travel in a short distance; therefore, it is still the favorite of the minority who tend to trave far.

In summary, even though airplane may not be the best option of travelling in a close distance, most people will still choose it when they are travelling far away, such as overseas. I am conceded that air travel is not restricted to benefit the rich, but it is becoming welcomed by common people since its price is going down.