airfare reducing, good or not?

Airlines are dropping their prices. Is it a positive or a negative development? Support your stand with examples.

Answer

It is a current trend that airfares are on the wane. While acknowledging certain drawbacks related to the decrease of airlines' prices, I believe that this prices reduction leans more towards a positive trajectory.

On the one hand, opponents of airfares' drop might concern about environmental issues. An increase in the number of people preferring flights is justifiable, potentially leading to overtourism. In this sense, the environment can be detrimentally affected because of the rise in energy usage, especially fossil fuel consumption. However, air technology is continually advancing with the enhancement of increased fuel efficiency, optimised fight routes, and controlled carbon offsets.

On the other hand, the decline of airfares is basically positive when it comes to consumers, airlines and economic growth. From the passengers' aspect, airfares' decrease is tantamount to the boost in the number of people travelling by airplanes when the prices is more affordable to reach a larger consumer base. Regarding airlines, the more passengers opting for fights, the more profits can be gained. Therefore, it will pay a way for economic growth as the airline is a significantly huge industry.

All in all, concerns about the environment relating to overtourism are exaggerated, as technological advances in air travel and responsible tourism practices can mitigate the issues. I believe that the drop in airfares is inherently positive due to the merits it bring to consumers, airlines and overall economy.