Should we allow children to make their own decisions on a common matters (such as food or clothes)

giving children basic choices

This is my practice of IELTS writing task 2. Please give some advice on it. Thank you!

Essay topic: Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matter that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Over the last few decades, the world has witnessed significant changes on the methodology of teaching children at home which focuses on developing their independence and self-confidence. However, it is widely believed that these young citizens should not be allowed to decide on what they eat, wear or play; otherwise, they would grow up being selfish. Others disagree and feel that is not necessarily a negative thing to do. This essay discusses both these views and then gives my viewpoint on this matter.

On the one hand, I believe that despite their young age, children should be trusted for simple responsibilities in the house and tasks should be given to them gradually. Things which are not only attached to their daily lives but also demonstrate their personalities such as food they eat, clothes they dress or the way they have fun need to be respected and taken into consideration by their own families and schools. For example, parents can let their sons or daughters take charge in choosing what kinds of food their family is going to have for the day; followed by that, the kids would feel more confident not only in their life choices but also in themselves.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that most of the time, kids cannot make up righteous decisions and therefore, it is impossible for the parents to believe in them. Advocates of this viewpoint also point out that without parental guidance or direction, the immaturity in children will urge them to decide falsely only to get whatever whenever they want. As a result, they would grow up believing in some wrong values and potentially become extremely reckless or self-centered. However, as far as I am concerned, kids are only innocent creatures who reflect their parents' everyday behaviors. As long as they are educated properly and carefully about qualities such as honor, nobility and kindness, I do not think this could be likely to happen to their future.

In conclusion, I strongly support the teaching methods towards giving children the right to determine on their basic demands including food, clothes and entertainment because this helps build up confidence in each child. The most important factor here is that parents need to be role models for their little members to believe in and follow.