Alternative energy cars become recent technology invention today.

Public Transportation an Effective Way to Reduce Pollution

Do you think it is better for government to spend money developing public transportation or developing new kinds of cars? Why or why not? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Pollution are the biggest contribute in global warming which are caused by private cars on the roads. While many people argue that government should spend money for the development of alternative energy cars, I believe that government should creates effective public transportation system to reduce air pollution.

Alternative energy cars become recent invention technology today. Some developed countries converted from conventional cars to alternative energy cars to reduce pollution and decrease economy cost from car's usage. They developed alternative energy cars to reduce pollution that are caused by incomplete combustion in fuel cars but an expensive cost needs to develop this kind of vehicle. By using alternative energy cars such as Electric vehicles (EVs) and Plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs), the emission that produces less than diesel cars. EVs and PHEVs running only on electricity have zero tailpipe emissions, but emissions may be produced by the conventional vehicles. A research from US Department of Energy's Clean Cities said that in conventional vehicles produces 87 lb CO2 emissions and spent $12.10 for its cost, whereas electric cars produces 54 lb CO2 and spent the cost about $3.74.

However, public transportation become important part in the country's strip. Government as stakeholder in a country has a big responsibility to provide comfortable transportation for their citizen. By developing public transportation it will reduce cars' usage and traffic jam, because many passengers will choose comfortable public transportation rather than driving their own cars. Automobile emissions contribute to smog, global warming and public health problems. The scientist examined that cars account for about 50 percent of air pollution nationwide. Public n vehicles emit fewer pollutants than single-passenger automobiles. For example, buses emit 80 percent less carbon monoxide than a car. Rail emits almost none. I believe that if the government spend money to improve their public vehicles use alternative energy, it will very useful to reduce pollution.

To sum up, the government should concern to improve eco-friendly transportation for their citizen rather than develop electric cars. By developing public transportation it believes that will reduce pollution more effective than electric cars.