Task 2: Alternative energy installation is more expensive than conventional energy

Alternative energy sources that use the natural power of the wind, waves, and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace the coal, oil, and gas that we use to power out cities and transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an assumption that the renewable energy from sun, wind and waves plants are more costly and difficult to build than fossil fuels for transportation and electricity use. Despite extra cost for the new technology, it would seem to me that they can bring more financial benefit due to the low maintenance cost.

It has been a common knowledge that initial cost for the alternative energy plant is higher than the conventional one. In order to generate energy, researchers need advanced research to find precise equipment size and technology. For instance, wind plant needs certain size and angle of turbine to be operated successfully. This kind of propeller cannot be found in the usual manufacturers so they have to produce it specially. It also need more than just one wind turbine to generate enough energy for even a house which means extra funding. The initial process clearly needs more allocation to manufacture new equipment and system.

However, once the plant is operated, much money will be save because of it needs less maintenance cost. When build a new energy plant or device, it is estimated to be functional for over than 10 years. The source for energy for alternative energy is abundance in the universe, so there is no need to spend more in searching it. One of the best examples is to buy a solar energized car or renown as hybrid car needs about three times more cash than petrol car. But, we can calculate for each kilometre, how much oil is needed? We can multiply it by the time we use that car. Then we will find greater number than buying a hybrid car. It is better to spend a bunch of money in the front than having invisible expenditures.

In short, I believe that alternative devices are only expensive and difficult at the beginning but bring more merits for the future. If we can use it with care, we can get not only financial benefits, but also for the environment.