GRE Analyse an Issue. Scandals are unfair and inefective. Instead, promote changes by debate.

Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some believe that a society can only be moved by dramatic changes. Seems that the way of democracy and political engagement are too slow and ineffective. Networks of corrupt politicians and private organizations are continuously nurtured with the appropriation of public funds, and perpetuates their power and influence. Thus, scandals may seem a practical way of calling the voters attention and urging them to mobilize. However, the slower, conscious process of reforming a government by critic and debate is more just and effective in the long term.

Cases of corruption should be judged by investigation and trial, without interference of the public opinion. This is not the case when a scandal is used by the press to manipulate against a politician or party, because the damage of reputation is already done when a tribunal finally gives the sentence. Scandals, in most cases, do more harm than good. One notorious case is the recent operation "Lava-Jato" in Brazil. Many politicians and businessmen were prosecuted, and was revealed that an equivalence of billions of dollars in local currency had been diverted from Petrobras accounts. The general public opinion is that scandals like this leads to deeper investigations and allows for other corruption schemes to be dismantled. Nonetheless, the whole government has been affected, with the President facing declining approval rates and the whole party suffering heavy loss of popularity. It might be the case that everyone was involved in the scheme, but even if some allied politicians were innocent, they also faced the premature trial from the press. National newspapers and TV had already judged the prosecuted without the whole evidence being available, and motivated the public opinion to condemn even those whose proofs of illegality were inconclusive.

Besides the occurrence of corruption scandals, we see many public persons having their intimate lives swept in the search for misbehaviors. Cases of marital infidelity and involvement with drugs consumption are common, but hardly predicts concrete professional issues. These scandals are useless for the public well-being. The truth is that everyone has some personal secret that the public opinion might condemn, but most are honest in what relates to their jobs. Thus, the incentive for the press to seek scandals in private affairs are unfair to individuals and aggregates nothing in the reform of a society.

A speaker or reformer can generate the needed changes. Takes longer, but it is more rational. Scandals are an emotional way of dealing with problems, which involves sacrifices of an individual's reputation without leading to long-term improvements. Cases of corruption must be thoroughly investigated and the criminals must face trial and be punishment, but the general opinion should not judge and destroy the reputation of someone because of a scandal that relates nothing to public affairs, like marital infidelity. Therefore, the best way to promote attention to problems is by rational debate.