GRE Analytic Writing; Should student study the same National Curriculum ?
Prompt:
"A nation should require all of its students to study
the same national curriculum until they enter college."
Write a response in which you discuss your views on the
policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take.
In developing and supporting your position, you should
consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy
and explain how these consequences shape your position.
Response:
If fairness is to be insured among people competing for anything,
it is absolutely important that everyone be given a fair ground
and an equal plane to compete on. This statement goes for any
kind of competition. And by extension, to the field of education
as well. As such, I support the fact that all students from a single
nation must study under a single curriculum until they enter college.
Let us consider the example of Bangladesh. In Bangladesh, A
majority of the student population studies under the national
curriculum set by the Educational board. However myriads of
students, paritcularly those from more affluent families study
under the British O and A level or the Iternational Baccalaurate
educational system. All three educational systems have their
own merits. However, problems do arise when students sit for
entrance exams for government universities, which are some of the
best in the country. The syllabus for the entrance exam is heavily
based on the syllabus of the national curriculum. And consquently,
students who do not study under the national curriculum suffer
a disadvantage. Such students are required to study the entire
national curricullum syllabus in short periods of time in
order to be familiar with the exam content. Similar problems occur
in other countries such as india where various students study under
a multitude of systems.This example makes a strong point as to why a single national
curricula is needed in order to ensure fairness in competitive
exams. By enacting a law that requires all students to study under a
single curricula, all students will have a level ground to compete upon
and have. Thus ensuring not only fairness but increases chances of universites
accepting the most desrving students.
Let us consider the exmaple of the US educational system. Almost
the entire student population studies under a unified system.
More affulent students study in private schools which have a
similar curriculum. Given the similarities in the curricula, and
the fact that all college applicants are required to give the SAT
in order apply for college. The reader can clearly see that all
students are compete from a level ground and their is no intrisnic
educational advantage or disadvantage in applying to schools. As
such, colleges can make choose the most suitable and deserving
candidates from an applicant pool and no university has voiced out any
form of dissappointment or diatribe about being unhappy about the
general characteristics of the student popultion. This example
provides another strong case as to how a singular educational curriculum
is beneficial.
It is simple, the best people can be accepted from a sea of paperwork
only and only if everyone is given equal footing. from the two given examples,
and a plethora of other available examples available, it is hard to conceive why
a single educational curriculum is not needed.