GRE Analytical: 'fields of study'; everybody has the right to decide for himself

Full title: Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

One of the most important things which affect human life is his/her decisions. Many decisions at the time of one's youth could affect his/her entire life, and of the most substantial part of one's youth period is the study period; therefore educational institutions could interfere student's decision making by discouraging them of what might not be suitable for him/her, or it is a human's right to choose freely without any pressure?

Everybody has the right to decide for himself/herself, and this is one of most fundamental concepts of human life; therefore, daunting students of something, just because somebody or even government doesn't prefer it would be assumed as ignoring human rights. Every student, no matter where or when, should be free to choice and encouraged to think before choosing; for example, when I was in high school - in the first year, when we were supposed to choose our major between health sciences, mathematical sciences, and human sciences; many teachers tried to discourage people of choosing either one or two of these majors. Personally, I did not prefer their approach, since they were thinking that we are unable to think and decide correctly, and ignoring our right to decide!

Although human has the right to choose, it is acceptable to help one in making decision; this help could be only favourable if it is done just by providing more information on the matter. In my opinion, this also applies to schools, meaning that educational institutions should only provide enough information for students to increase their chance of making correct decision, and the evaluation method for correct decision is just based on decider's opinion who made it before, and it can only be evaluated after a while.

In conclusion, one should be free to choose and make his/her decision based on the information and facts that he/she has at that particular time, and - in my opinion - nobody else has the right to encourage or discourage the decision maker of his action and thought. Educational institutions, as an advisor, can only help students and their decision making by providing clear and useful information to them.