ANIMAL EXPERIMENT - DISCUSSION AND OPINION ESSAY

the use of animals for scientific purposes

"Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion."

In this day and age, animal experiment plays a pivotal role in the production of new medicines as well as their safety checking. While it is often stated that animal testing is morally wrong, I still lean towards a limited use of experimental animals for the sake of medical development.

On the one hand, take innocent creatures like mice or rabbits as the subject of research violates their rights. Life of all beings should be equally respected and human cannot judge or decide which one need to sacrifice for those experiments. Instead of carrying out such ruthless things, scientist had better seek for alternatives method without detriment to alive animals. Examining newly dead specimens or using computation to test or check the effectiveness of new drugs might be more humanitarian.

On the other hand, there are also supporters for the use of animal in medical purpose. Firstly, neither analyzing how lifeless bodies react to drugs nor evaluating through computers give out accurate result. In addition, experiments on animals is now implemented properly; therefore, not all of them suffer from death or serious diseases. Thanks to those being tested, new effective medicines are released and able to secure life of both human and other creatures. Moreover, if animals were exempted from being sacrificial victims, human would have no choice but devote themselves for experimentation, which might not be less cruel.

To conclude, although there are ethical argument against animal testing, I maintain my original position that the use of these species for medical purpose at a limited level should be accepted as a life-saving method.