Should animal experiments be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer?

This is the first time I post my essay on this website, if I break some rules please point out! This essay is written for IELTS Academic Task 2. I look forward to your corrections!

Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other projects. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer. While others are in favor of them because of the benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is evidence that animal experiments are an essential part of scientific research. People supporting this idea claim that animal experimentation is beneficial in terms of medical safety. From my perspective, they should be limited and the method of experiments needs to be developed in order to reduce the pain and torture of animals.

It is undeniable that experimentations on animals leads to a more efficient and truth-oriented result. Animals are similar to humans in many aspects because we both have complex internal structures. Scientists can test out the safety and effectiveness of medicines by observing animals' behaviors after experiments. From supporters perspective, animal experimentation is greatly needed before new medicines' promotion because the sacrifice of animals justifies the human lives saved by medicines.

Nevertheless, performing experimentations on living animals seems to be a barbarous way to deprive animals of living right. Indeed, animals have their right and preference to live even if they cannot communicate in human language. It is ethically wrong to torture those animals for our own benefit. For instance, in some cases, laboratory mice are infected with a certain virus for testing out the effectiveness of medicines, most of them eventually end their lives with extreme sufferings. On the other hand, extreme use of experimentation on animals leads to the damage of biological diversity. The most common test animals such as mice are now facing a huge loss of quantity because of overuse experiments.

In conclusion, subjecting animals to experiments is necessary but morally evil. Unless alternative targets are invented, animals' experiments are still needed for medical research, however it is crucial for scientists to develop methods to reduce the trauma caused to a large extent.