Animal experiments to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products

Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Controversy of Animal Testing

It has been argued for years whether animal experiments are beneficial to humanity or if it is unacceptable that animals will suffer pains from it. In my opinion, I firmly believe that we should limit animal testing and try to use more humane tests as alternative methods.

On the one hand, it is true that animal testing made a major contribution to the drug invention. There are more similar living systems to human beings which are easier to obtain the biochemistry data and predict the toxicity of the drug. However, with the advent of well-developed technology, we can also use cell-based tests and establish a online human-liked module to access a great amount of information as well as predict the patterns. For example, IBM Watson is an AI-based platform which can help scientist to predict the efficiency of the drug by collecting a substantial number of clinical databases and calculating the possibility of the treatment via artificial intelligence, which not only can reduce the demand of animal testing but also can obtain the data efficiently.

On the other hand, animals were usually subjected to force feeding, food and water deprivation and prolonged period of physical restraint which were considered as inhumane and unacceptable. we should not overlook the lives of animals because I believe that every creature has their own values and cannot be used as a tool for any purposes. In addition, animal testing is not always accurate enough and sometimes it will be unavailable to human beings due to the complex organism of human body.

To conclude, it is inevitable that scientists test on animals for medical purposes, however, we can figure out an alternatives to it as the technology has become much more advance than ever, then, animals do not have to lose their lives and suffer pains anymore.