Ielts writing task 2 animal exploitation

IELTS task 2 :

In the modern world it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

Animal exploitation to meet humans's needs such as food, clothing and medicine is unnecessary. While I agree that the killing of animals may bring some drawbacks to people,I believe that animals play a vital role in inventing new medicine.

One the one hand, I disagree with the opinion because animals such as white mice and rabbits may serve medical purposes. For example, in Russia, toxicity tests of newly - invented vaccine for the Corona virus was taken on white mice to observe the effects of this drug. As a result, the medical practitioners have managed to make a breakthrough and save nearly 20 million patients who are positive to this deadly disease and are on the verge of death. In this way, both the doctors and the patients may benefit from animals used to do the experiments.

On the other hand, I believe that animal cruelty may bring some consequences to human-beings, hence, I agree with the opinion for two reasons. The first worth-mentioning reason is that some results of animal tests would do more harm than good to the patients. To be more specific, animals' bodies are not similar to those of humans thus some side-effects which can not be found on animals' bodies may impair patients' health. Secondly, a plethora of illnesses such as obesity, cancer and heart diseases often accompany over consumption of meat which is presumably believed to be the only ingredient containing protein. For this reason, the authorities have been calling people for changing their diet and cutting down on meat because there are some substitutes for meat namely tofu and mushrooms which are rich in protein. For all reasons aforementioned, it is not necessary to use animals to produce food, clothing and drugs.

All existing data provides a concrete foundation that even though experiments with animals are beneficial for the doctors and the patients, animal exploitation also results in adverse effect on public health thus I partially agree with the opinion.