IELTS: Animal Testing should not be banned but its usages need to be minimized

Animals should not be used for the benefits of human being, unless there is evidence that the animals do not suffer in any way

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Animal testing has become a debatable issue in recent years. While some scientists have stated that testing on animal should not be restricted, I believe that this method should not be overused and other alternatives could be applied.

On the one hand, there are several benefits that animal testing may offer. Firstly, this plays a crucial role in scientific research. Many medical tests on new drugs have been undertaken on animals before human experimentation. This may help in advancing medical and scientific knowledge without costing people's lives. Secondly, in some certain extent, researchers aim to minimize suffer that animals have to experience. Taking cosmetic industry as an example, this testing has been banned as its unjustified uses of animals.

On the other hand, animal testing have many drawbacks that need to be considered. The first drawback is that its inhumane and immoral image. In other words, the lives of animals should be respected because people no ethical rights to use others for their sakes. Another drawback is that many other alternatives, which are non-animal based, should be taken into consideration. For example, some of animals' DNA has been computerized; therefore, scientists could be able to use these data instead of the traditional testing approach while the outcomes might be almost identical.

In conclusion, animal testing should not be banned but its usages need to be minimized. It is suggested that an approval of animal testing should be given by the Animal Ethics and Care committees before the test could be used.