IELTS Task 2: Animal testing becomes public debate

Some people think that the use of animal for experimentation is cruel. Other think it is good for the development of science. Discuss the two sides and give your opinion.

Animal testing in some medical tests is debatable for some reasons. This public debate arouses people's interest to come up with their idea that experimentation on animals is unethical because humans have no moral right to do experiment on faunas. However, critics claim that animal testing is necessary to advance medical and scientific knowledge in some important medical discoveries. Therefore, I strongly believe that both arguments have different perspectives in terms of animal testing.

With regard to the experiment of animals, people believe that it is understandable to use animal in important scientific research as scientists need experimentation to test a new drug in order to cope the rare disease. Take scientists in America as an example, they have to find out a drug to cure a danger disease, Ebola in 2015, which kills many people in the South Africa. In this study, scientists use mice to advance the medical research and analyse the product before the drug is taken by the sufferers. As a result, animal testing helps in medical tests on a new medicine in order to combat the bacterial infection of Ebola disease.

On the other hand, others argue that animal testing should be banned for moral reasons. Firstly, experiment on animals is unethical because animals have a same right as humans, and the live of animals should be respected. Regardless of this reason, the use of animal for experimentation cannot be justified by suffering caused as there are some alternative ways that can be used to invent a new drug in medical discoveries. Finally, humans have no right to use animals in some experiments because the more the scientists use animals on medical research, the more the animals lead to extinction.

In the light of the aforementioned facts, I personally believe that the reason of animal testing cannot be accepted because scientist enable to take other means of experiment with using plants which have the similar substances like animals. While using animals as object of experimentation is cruel, in the some crucial medical tests animals are allowed so as to prevent the widespread of danger disease using a new drug. Where possible, animal testing should be restricted with the strict policy which controls the experimentation.