IELTS Writing Task 2: Animal testing is morally wrong but it can save human's life.

Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that animal experiments are routinely used to develop new drugs and to test the safety of other products. Opinions are divided on whether we should ban this method because it is ethically wrong or we should continue using it as it brings benefits to humans . From my aspect, I agree with the latter only if the use of animal testing is controlled.

On the one hand, there are ethical arguments against animal experimentation. To use a simple example, as laboratory mice may be given an illness so that we can measure the effectiveness of a new drug, they have to suffer physical pain and deprivation of water and food. Opponents of such research argue that humans have no right to subject animals to this kind of trauma and the lives of all creatures should be respected. Moreover, to implement animal testing, a large amount of money have to be expended on the facilities and human resources. As a result, the country's national finance is used to invest in these experiments and can not be used for other purposes, such as housing and education.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that people are still rely on animal testing and until now, there has not been any reliable alternatives to this experiment. Those who argue that implementing animal experimentation is wrong may feel differently if a member of their own families needed medical treatment that is tested through the use of animals. In other words, the suffering of animals can be justified in the lives of humans in some cases. Personally, I agree with the banning of animal testing for non-medical products, but I think it is necessary evil for taking this test for new drugs and medical procedures.

To sum up, people disagree with the use of animals on testing drugs for the reason that it is unjustified to the animals and costly. However, it is necessary to use this method for testing new necessary drugs and medical treatments, which can save many human's lives.