IELTS: do animals have the same rights as humans?

A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are two sides of opinion to the animal-rights. Some people think that human should not mistreat animasl; while other people against that idea and think it's necessary for human to take benefit from them to satisfy our needs.

With many people speak for animals' right to live a peaceful life, there are still people think exploiting animal is not a moral question. First of all, to kill animal for food's sake is perfectly natural behavior. We need these animals to supply food like meat, which offers many vitamins and other nutrients only available from animal product. Secondly, using animals for medicine research is quite important in modern society. Animals help human to test new medicine for creating remedy for disease like AIDS or other diseases which are still have no cure.

Despite of all these benefits we can earn from animal, people who stand for animal right still don't agree. To begin with, it's cruel and inhuman to slaughter animals just for food or clothes: there are already loads of replacement for clothe making and human can have balanced diet through vegetables and fruits, so it's unnecessary to eat animals. Furthermore, animals suffer enormous pain from research and eventually die. It's not fair for them to sacrifice their own lives for human's health problem.

Personally, I think it's natural for us to use animals to enhance our living quality. It makes animal suffer, but they do suffer from frighten and starvation all the time while they are out of wildness. Keeping animal for food actually saves them from starving and predators. To conclude, I think it's extremely important to respect life while using animals for any reason. For respecting is the only way to avoid us take them for granted.