The annual books expenditures in Germany, France, Italy and Austria from 1995 to 2005 (in million $)

The line graph ilustrates the annual books expenditures in Germany, France, Italy and Austria from 1995 to 2005, and is measured in million US dollars. It can be seen that although all four countries had an upward trend in the amount of money spent on books, Germany and Italy showed a slight drop in a decade.

Austria and France seem to raise their books expenditures consistently over a ten-year period. For more detailed analysis, in 1995 Austria spent $30 for books, which was the least amount among the three other european countries. This amount steadily increased during four following years then it remains unchanged until 2001. Interestingly, in 2003 this county beated Italy in the amount of books expenditures because of a significant jump by $20 and this amount tended to rise until reach a peak at $70 in 2005. Meanwhile, France experienced a steadier upward trend, which showed a small increased of $20 in the end of the peroid.

Although Germany and Italy also spent much money on books in 2005 compared to the beginning, these countries saw a small drop. German tended to spend the highest amount of money on books. In the beginning, the amount stood at $80 and rose until 1999. However, it saw a fall by $5 in 2003 and rose again to $95. On the other hand, Italy experienced its small plunge in 1999 then the amount steadily increase to more than $60 in 2005.