Applicants' personal data are valuable to the employers to figure out certain requirements and goals

Employers sometime ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

the extra information about a job seeker

It is a fact that in most of the employment forms we observe many fields to be filled up by the employees such as their hobbies, interest, marital status. To some people these fields seem meaningless for a job interview. However, these are indeed valuable to the employers to figure out their certain requirements and goals towards the benefits of the organizations.

There are numerous advantages to the employers for assessments with such basic personal information. To state a few, it helps an interviewer to understand the area of interests of the interviewee. It also enables the employer to analyse the abilities and qualities of the candidate. By doing so, employers also aggregate how beneficial the candidate for the respective job.

In addition, we all know that married persons also have many more responsibilities other than their work life. There could be many unavoidable reasons for them to quit jobs or migrate places which has a direct impact in the long run of the company benefits. By checking the status of the person could help the employers to organize structure and planning which would be beneficial for the company.

On the other side of the coin, some short-sighted people argue that this additional information are less relevant for the job interviews. Even they also put their views by adding that these are just attention seekers to get recruited in the market. Moreover, it is undeniable that a candidate should be sound in technical aspects, more appropriate to the nature of the job.

To recapitulate, though technical knowledge plays a key role in case of a job requirement, however, the additional information show a good view to the employers to pick right candidates for the job considering the objective and requirements of their organizations. I strongly assert this viewpoint of sharing valuable details.