Applying a strict tax level on fast foods?

should the government impose a high tax on fast food?

It is true that the number of victims of diseases related to fast-food is growing considerably every year. Some people suggest that a heavy tax should be imposed on fast-food, which is a good idea, in my opinion.

Junk food obviously has multiple adverse effects on people's health, especially weight. The high contents of fat and carbohydrate in fast food are the main cause of obesity. Fried chicken and deep-fried potatoes, which are made with a thick coat of bread-crumb soaked in repeatedly-used oil, can be taken as a good example. Its popularity affects everyone's daily diet and adds an excessive amount of calories to their bodies. Obesity and other diseases not only diminish their lifespan but also hinder their working ability. Thus, a strict measure should be taken on a national or even international scale to prevent further consequences.

Applying a high tax is surely a good point because the primary reason for enormous fast-food consumption is its low price. With the addition of tax, it is no longer a cheap and available choice. People will instead opt for purchasing fresh ingredients to make better-valued and healthy meals. Moreover, we could ensure the reduction in the number of junk-food suppliers because if there is a higher tax, the business will seem less lucrative. This also means fewer people can have access to fast-food and related illnesses.

In conclusion, an urgent rate of diseases associated with the use of junk food should be well-aware and tacked. Applying a strict tax level is an effective measure in this case.