IELTS TASK 2: APPROPRIATE FORM OF PUNISHMENT FOR DRUG USERS

Should drug addicts be jailed or rehabilitated? Discuss both views and give your opinions.

More attention should be paid on addicted people to narcotics. As seen, they have a tendency to use drugs in the wrong path. Some people believe that government should send them into prison, while others suggest that it would be much better to put them into the hospital. Therefore, I believe i stand in the latter idea since hospital is the best place to rehabilitate them while the former method is utterly unacceptable as it can not helped them.

The general view has been that drug addicts should be arrested in order to prevent them influencing other people using narcotics. For example, BNN, one of the government institution that handle drugs cases in Indonesia, states that there is an increase in the number of addicted people in Indonesia since ordinary people are influenced utilizing heroin by drug users. However, I believe this is not the best way to solve such a problem since drug addicts have vulnerable mentality that should be helped by introducing the danger of drugs

Apart from the previous discussion, some people argue that government should put addicted people into the hospital so as to gain rehabilitation intensively. Hopefully, drug users can realize the huge dire effects on narcotics. A 2012 recent Harvard University study reveals that more than 90%of drugs addicts in the rehabilitation institution in England realized their own mistake and they were cured for 1-2 years. This resulted in the number of drug addicts decreased significantly. I am bound to choose this method since they are not crime suspects but they are the real victims of bad environment.

The aforementioned evidence shows that it would be great if drug addicts sent into rehabilitation center since this methods help them free from drugs. This is really more useful than the former method as throwing them to the prison does not break the problem. Where possible, drug addicts have to have strong commitment to be free from drugs.