IELTS: 'appropriate infrastructure to spur growth and prevent the damage caused to environment'

Please review my essay and give me your valuable comments.

Some people think pollution and damage of environment are resulted from a country developing and becoming richer, and this is hard to be avoided. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many developing countries across the world are struggling to maintain their GDP growth under the current turbulent economic conditions. Under these circumstances, countries find it difficult to sustain their growth rate and are under severe pressure to compromise in certain areas such as pollution and environment. However, I believe that authorities should think in long term and build appropriate infrastructure to spur growth and prevent the damage caused to environment.

The compromises done by authorities have direct impact on the environment and in turn affect the country in several ways. For instance, most of the cloth production and exports are manufactured in the developing countries, however, hardly people realize the harmful effects caused to the environment by this business. During the production process, poisonous dyes are directly diverted to the nearby rivers which in turn affect the water body and kill the aquatic organisms. Although developing countries should encourage exports, it should not be at the cost of abusing the environment. Therefore, authorities should devise plan to regulate these industries.

Similarly, nowadays, developing countries depends on foreign investments in this globalized world. In order to attract investments and promote business, governments are under pressure to provide leverage to customers in the form of lenient regulations and quicker approvals. Such haste approvals, without detailed research about the project, are the major reasons for deforestation in many countries and has already caused severe climatic changes in many parts of the world. This could be avoided by the developing smaller cities and providing assistance to investors by creating joint plan for improving infrastructure, thereby saving the environment and encouraging busines.

In conclusion, I strongly believe developing countries which undergo this problem of compromising the environment should think in the long term and plan innovatively to build infrastructure and promote business in order to give a better world for the future generations.