Some argue that advertisements are very successful in convincing people to make purchase

IELTS task 2 advertising is successful or not

Some argue that advertisements are very successful in convincing people to make purchase, while others think that they have become so common and people are not affected by them. Although the repetition of adverts can be annoying and make people ignore them, I believe that advertising is an effective way of promoting products as they have become more creative.

people nowadays see adverts everywhere especially in the media which is irritating and makes visitors ignore them. This is because advertising agencies try to bombard people with a lot of adverts and brainwash them by doing it repetitively. This is a common technique taken by many companies but since this method distracts people's concentration from their work or study, the majority of people stop paying attention to them. For example, based on the data released by TV channels in 2019, the number of visitors of channels that broadcast too many adverts repetitively decreased by nearly 40%. However, I believe that advertising is still a successful technique because of using creative contents.

On the contrary, advertising agencies use innovative ways to influence people successfully. That is to say, business owners now try to find new ways to garner people's attention in their adverts. They use images that have aesthetic features for those who tend to gravitate towards beauty or use persuasive contents that can be informative for different group of watchers. For instance, environmental concerns is a main issue for most of people and trying to create a connection between buying a product and its positive impact on the environment in an advertisement is a creative way to encourage people to make purchase. For this reason. I think advertising is a powerful way in markets.

In conclusion, while receiving many ads from different sources can make people feel annoyed and refuse to pay attention to them, I believe that creative methods that are used to target people with different attitudes is the reason why advertising is extremely successful in the promotion of products.