I would argue that globalization influences people to learn foreign language, English especially

All children should study a foreign language in school starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the development of globalization which foreign languages becomes important to communicate with other people in different countries, some people argue that children in the earliest grades have to learn a foreign language. I strongly believe that this has both positive and detrimental effects.

I would argue that globalization influences people to learn foreign language, English language specially. Result shows that about 1,500,000,000 people in the world speak in English, and around 1,000,000,000 people are studying it. Moreover, almost all of international conferences and international competitions are held in English language, Olympiad for example. Although this can help people to communicate with foreigners, traditional language is abandoned.

Based on that data, many parents more concerned with foreign languages than traditional languages. If this kind of case continue, it will make the traditional languages extinct. To illustrate, Mapia, Tandia, Bonerif and Saponi were kind of traditional languages that vanished in Papua. As a result, people in the future may not know about their traditional languages, and it will become a big problem for a country as traditional languages are a country cultures.

However, learn about foreign languages specially English will help people to challenge the development of globalization. For instance, Asian Free Trade Agreement (AFTA) will be applied soon, and all of Asian countries will compete to dominate the trade's competition. Thus, English competence is needed to assist people to contend with the other countries.

To sum up, it seems to me that learn a foreign language is important, and it can leg up people to vie global competition. In order to achieve that a foreign language should be learned by children in the earliest grades. Although, there is possibility that traditional language will be abandoned. In my opinion the stakeholder should look carefully at traditional languages besides foreign languages.