Argue for or against sweet advert should be banned

Argue for or against the idea that advertisements for sweets should be banned from TV.

I am writing to argue that advertisement for sweets should be banned from TV because our children are convinced into buying these artificial colour sweets that harm their health and makes them lazy. Do we really want our delicate children to be growing obese? Thus, wouldn't it be helpful to ban these ads from TVs.

To begin with, I believe all sweets advertisement should be banned on TV because most children tend to pester at their parents into buying them and most parents end up buying it. As health service community state "health ads are behind rising rates of obesity"

3 in 10 children in Britain age between 7-15 are obese according to NHS. Our children are bombarded with ads on TV and there are likely to become overweight as they would keep purchasing theses unhealthy sweets.

Another reason that suggests sweets advertisement should be banned is that it increases waste in the environment and create more pollution to our streets that makes it worse to live. Recent figure shows 49 % of rubbish comes from the streets.

Furthermore, beside the above detriment, consider the impact on children into their adulthood that they will develop serious condition like diabetes, high blood pressure and heart disease. As an Expert says "getting rid of junk food commercial would make our kids healthier."

Nonetheless, some people would argue that sweets ads should not be banned because they think it is the parents' responsibilities to look after their children of what they are watching. However, this is not the case because children are being targeted with ads during their favourite show which is difficult for the parents to deal with.

To sum up, In my opinion I think sweets ads should be banned on TV as it would benefit our children as well as drop the obesity rate in the country. We live in a world where we see ads in every place we go.