Task2: It is argued that because of globalisation we will lose our cultural identity

globalisation = loss of cultural identity?

As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to a total loss of cultural identity.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Because of the massive growth of global transportation and connection to each other, globalization is playing a more and more vital role in this day and age. Therefore, it is argued that we will lose our cultural identity unavoidably. I completely disagree with the opinion.

First of all, I believe that globalization contributes to cultural integration rather than the disappearance of cultural identity. It allows people to experience various cultures worldwide and provides a multicultural environment to integrate different cultures. For instance, people all over the world are fond of Japanese traditional cuisine, Sushi. An increasing number of restaurants are attempting to create a combined dish with both Eastern and Western recipes. Therefore, instead of forgetting the local food culture, people could think outside the box and combine new delicacies with their own food culture.

Secondly, globalization allows people not only to immerse themselves into another culture but also helps them to discover the beauty of their own indigenous culture. In other words, instead of losing cultural identity, people would cherish their distinguished local culture. The American film industry, for example, has a tremendous impact on every corner of the world due to globalization. People in India discover the fascination of their films from Bollywood and enjoy watching national movies filling with Indian characteristic institutions rather than watching Hollywood-centric movies containing with American popular culture. Thus, globalization helps people to find their cultural identity.

To conclude, I am of the standpoint that globalization does not contribute to a complete disappearance of cultural identity because it makes people know more about others and their own cultures.