It is argued that railways are taking over roads as the most important transport

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

knowledge or experience.

It is argued that railways are taking over roads as the most important transport type so that the government should pay more money on it, I completely agree and think that government should spend money on railways rather than roads.

Firstly, railways do not have the problem of traffic jams. Since the operation mode of railways are settle in a timetable which there is only one train in a certain position, it will not occur traffic jam and stuck the path. In contrast, roads are in thousands of cars at the same time. Therefore, there are more accidents and traffic jam issue. It shows that money use in railways is more effective than roads. For example, during the traffic peak time like in the morning and evening, roads are always stuck by numerous of cars while railways are running effectively and never stuck. That's why spending money on railways are better than on the roads.

Secondly, railways can benefit all types of humans. In other words, railways can carry the elderly, children, adults, and those without a license while most of the cars on roads are private cars. Although there are buses on roads, there are still fewer amount of citizens who benefited from the development or improvement on roads compared to railways. For instance, the child is unable to drive private cars on the road when he can take any kind of railways. It provides the reason for spending money on railways instead of roads.

To conclude, I strongly believe that paying money to improve railways are more advantageous than roads because railways do not have the issue of traffic jam and most of us can benefit from it.