ARGUING ABOUT THE PURPOSES OF LEARNING A NEW LANGUAGE

Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The demand for becoming a bilingual or multilingual has been dramatically increased in the recent years. While some people think that the sole purpose of learning a second language is to find a job or for a holiday abroad, others believe there are several more reasons for a person to do so. From my perspective, I relatively favour the latter for some reasons below.

On the one hand, the requisite of numerous companies nowadays usually includes the ability of using at least one other language. In fact, globalization has clearly been popular recently ; therefore, the need for bilingual employees has as well grown. For instance, an IELTS certification seems to do wonders for employees to earn a job in foreign businesses or countries. The case is also somewhat true when it comes to travel, as it is quite a waste of money to travel to a place without knowing hardly anything about it.

On the other hand, learning another language satisfies not only our physical needs, but also our moral needs. It is seems to be much more simple for us to communicate and make friends with a person if we are talking in the same language. Furthermore, when learning a new language, we can simultaneously know more about the culture and custom of the nation using that language. Hence, acquiring an extra language can rise our possibility to have more international friends as well as broaden our horizons.

In short, it is, to a certain extent, true that many people strive to be a bilingual just to apply for a job or travel abroad; however, I think that it has not ever been and should not be limited in that border.