GRE Argument task for a hobby shop at Grilldon

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

My Answer:

suggestions for the city of Grilldon

The author predicts that Grilldon should be the site of Hobco hobby shop. To support this argument various reasons have been cited. However, these reasons are based on certain assumptions and thus do not provide any concrete evidence to support author's argument.

First, a poll result is indicated according to which 88 percent of those who responded were in favor of hobby shop in Grilldon. There is no data regarding what was the sample size of poll. It is quite possible that the sample may not be representative for entire city of grilldon. Also, there is no mention about the profile of the residents. The results could have been biased if there are more number of people from a specific income group. Had there been any information regarding how the sample was collected, it could have justified the author's claim.

Second, the author states that the Grilldon is in a region of the nation where the hobby business has increased during the past decade. This claim is not logical and conclusive as previously it was mentioned that there is no hobby shop in Grilldon as of now. If the region is growing in hobby business since last 10 years, why there is not a single hobby shop still in Grilldon. How can one presume that other regions are same as Grilldon?. Every region in a nation has different customer profile and varied interests. Assuming Grilldon to grow at the same rate as other regions is not valid and weakens the argument. If the author had mentioned a comparative study of different regions citing similarities with Grilldon, it would have strengthened the above argument.

Third, the author assumes that Grilldon has a very large population of retirees and people will have ample time for hobbies. It is not necessary if someone has time he or she will spend it on hobbies. Some people would like to travel or spend time with their families. There might be some who would spend their time relaxing. The author's assumption without any other relevant information does not provide any evidence to support it.

In conclusion, the above assumptions do not provide enough information to validate the claim that Grilldon should be the site of Hobco Hobby shop.