The argument over whether local history or world history should be given priority in school

Writing Task 2: Local history and world history

It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The argument over whether local history or world history should be given priority in school has been ongoing for many years. Some people consider learning about local history to be much more important than world history. I agree with this idea and will discuss several compelling reasons in this essay.

To begin with, local history provides school children with a firm foundation to understand their nation's singularity. To be more specific, learning about prestigious dynasties and historic events in the past would assist students in recognizing how weighty the merits of forefathers are. For instance, when learning about The August Revolution of Vietnam in 1945, about difficulties and fatalities that our forefathers had to face up with, schoolchildren would appreciate their forefathers' merits highly and treasure their nation's ongoing peace and independence. As a result, the youth could raise their awareness of preserving and developing the nation in recognition of their ancestors.

Furthermore, studying local history would give children more chances of developing interest in the whole subject of history, including world history. Because local history is more relevant and familiar to children as it is related to every aspect of their lives, learning about that would be an ideal basis for them to acquire knowledge of world history much easier. For example, children can make a comparison between events happening during a particular period in their nation and those in other nations, so they can understand the lessons thoroughly rather than merely reading and memorizing.

Some people may argue that if children hardly study world history, they will not be able to widen their knowledge about other nations, which is a disadvantage in this society of globalization. However, the fact is that a lot of school children nowadays learn history only by mesmerizing the timeframe, because they have to perceive a large amount of information about unfamiliar nations and people. Consequently, that will be a waste of time to study world history unless children change their mindset and are truly interested in history.

In conclusion, local history plays an indispensable role in the education system and should be given priority rather than world history. Besides, learning local history would also arouse children's enthusiasm for world history, thereby taking in overall acknowledgment about the world as well.