GRE argument (the number of shoppers in Central Plaza)

The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

This argument made an acclaim that because of the litter and vandalism caused by skater, the number of shopping in Central Plaza declined, and if skateboarding were banned, the business would rehabilitate. For strengthen this argument, we need to make sure of something, on the one hand, we should know it is the skateboarding that hindered the business, on the other hand, we ought to know the change of population in Central Plaza.

For confirming the cause of decreasing, the first question we need to ask is "are you sure the decline is only attributed to the trash and destroy caused by skaters". For answering this, the arguer needs to do a survey, among those store owners and residents, listening the inner voice of people who are not skaters. Maybe the decrease is the decline of the needs of citizen, people who live there are disincline to shopping at the Central Plaza. Similarly, there is another chance that the goods in the shop no long satisfied the residents' appetites, therefore they didn't go shopping as much as before and go somewhere else. From that situation, the prohibition of skateboarding is not necessary, to boot the business, the store owners should change their construct of the shop. But if all those chances were not right, residents said it is because the skateboarding that disturbed the tranquil life of shopping they are unlikely to go shopping, the predict result in the argument would need to be done at once in order to rebuild the vitality of shopping.

However maybe the skateboarding have been existing for a long time and dramatically, it has increased this year, and ironically shopping has decreased, so we need to know: does the population in Central Plaza decrease? If the residents has emigrated to another city or they work at other places, so the arguer should be blamed to the skateboarding, but if it is not the case, then this place should ban skateboarding.

In summary, making sure the decrease caused by skateboarding and the clear link between decline in shopping and increase in skateboarding, this prediction that skateboarding should be inhibited is needed to be doing right now to booming the shopping.