An essay about the argument of whether people spend too much time on enjoying themselves

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on enjoying themselves rather than working. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

My opinion to this statement is negative though it seems that people spend more time on enjoying themselves and less time on the things they should do such as their work or study, because we can see most people today wherever they go they often pick out their mobile phones and read interesting news on it. I have totally different views to that according to the following argument.

People must struggle to improve their competence to elevate the levels of their livelihood in the high-speed developing world, or they will just live in the circumstance of surviving. It is all known that we are now living in an information world pursuing efficiency of production. In most condition people who have the relatively higher level of education as well as are with special skills can get a fairly good job. To the best of my knowledge, there are few job requiring worktime less than eight hours per day, normally from 9am to 5pm. Particularly for the jobs such as researcher and doctors, they often take over ten-hour work a day. I don't believe the normal worktime in the past time can exceed that in today.

What's more, the statement fails to take into account that students spend more time today than ever on studying diversity of subjects. We can learn from the history of science that the amount of the current knowledge of human beings is immense to that of ancient time as ocean is to pond. Students have to exert themselves to handle what they learn as to get into reality what they have in mind. Consequently, it will not be strange to see students study more than ten hours a day.

In conclusion, people today spend as much time as or even more than before. We cannot simply come into a conclusion by the appearance that people create and take part in a lot more manners of entertainments.