GRE Argument: Response to a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station

GRE Argument: "WWAC radio station..."

The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument,the arguer concluded that by shifting from the rock-music format to a news and talk format can reverse a decline in listener numbers,and the increasing number of people who are mostly retirement are moving here.To justify the recommendation ,the author points out a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggest limited interest in music,moreover,a news and talk format which is increasingly popular in their areas, which was reasonable at first glance.However, close scrutiny of this evidence reveals its lends little credible support for the author's assumption.

A paramount problem involved in this conclusion is that the author simply assumes that it is rock-music format,rather than other factors ,which lead to a decline in listener numbers.Without providing any credible evidence,the author apparently can not substantiate this crucial assumption,though it is entirely possible.It is much likely that many other explanations are the main reason for this phenomenon.An appropriate example is not far to seek,nowadays,with the development of technology,the Internet is becoming more and more popular,people are more likely to choose the Internet rather than radio station to meet their needs.Furthermore,it is entirely possible that many other radio station which can supply better quality of music than WWAC can attract people's interest in it. .In order to strengthen his argument,the author should provide reliable evidences and have to rule out these or other alternative explanations.For example,if the author can convince the decline only due to the rock-music format,and no other factors can supplant it,the argument will be significantly strengthened.

Additionally,it is not safe to assumes without substantiation that attracting these new residents is only the best way to reverse a decline in listener numbers.In this case,we may wonder whether other ways is possible or not.For example,the WWAC radio station can increase propaganda,or,it can also employ some famous anchors .Thus,the author should supple more convincing evidence to confirm this assumption.Otherwise,there is little chance that this ineffective assumption can be bolstered.

Finally,even if the foregoing assumptions on which the conclusion is based on reasonable,the argument merely relies on the assumption that a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music, and we are not informed any persuasive or professional evidence.In fact,it could turn out to be true,however,it will be questionable if the sales of recorded music has been greatly qualified by listening music through MP3,TV station and even Internet,which are more convenient and interesting than recorded music .If so,anyone would be reluctant to accept the author's recommendation.

To sum up,there are,as i have presented,many obvious flaws that need to be addressed before the proposal can be seriously scrutinized.Otherwise,any impetuous implementation of the recommendation would be unlikely to have desired consequence.