Ielts: Argument essay No need to use animals for food, clothing and medicine

animals products are no longer necessities

In the modern world, people are no longer necessary to use food from animals or products from animals such as medicine and clothing. Agree or disagree?

It is often argued that thanks to the amazing advancements and breakthroughs in technology, there is no need to exploit animals in food, fashion and medical industry. I myself completely agree with this view.

There are several justifications for not using animals as a source of human food. Firstly, vegetarian food is increasingly attested to offer equal nutritious quality as meat and fish. For example, many types of nuts such as soya, beans, almonds, and etc. provide not only valuable fibre but also protein and lipid. Secondly, consuming a plant-based diet would significantly reduce the risk of life-threatening diseases such as obesity, diabetes, and etc. As a result, people's overall physical health would be greatly improved.

Moreover, people have recently invented efficient and powerful alternatives for animals in clothing and pharmaceutical industry. With regard to manufacturing garment products, instead of using skins and fur from animals, a myriad ranges of artificial fabrics have been created with even better quality. Clothing items made of these synthetic materials are cheaper to produce and easier to preserve than ones made of animals' skins. In terms of medical perspective, sophisticated and modern computer simulation software is increasingly applied in order to test the effects of certain types of treatment and medicine with better accuracy for a shorter period of time. As a result, it is no longer necessary to use animals in medicine or treatment testing.

In conclusion, food, fashion and medical products made of animals are no longer necessities due to the fact that they can be replaced by plant-based diets, synthesized fabrics and computer simulation programs.