Argumentative essay "International students should not be allowed to work while study in Aus."

"International students should not be allowed to work while studying in Australia." Discuss

require 600 words ( 10% deviation )

It is common that international students go to find a job in Australia. Doing a job in Australia have two advantages and two disadvantages. Some people argued that government should stop the right of international students in doing a job;whereas other people suggest that international students working in Australia are beneficial for them. Although it is argued that overseas students could gain some assets for the future life, in this case, they will make two problems to the society.

The reasons why International students should not be allowed to work in Australia are causing unemployment and affecting the study. To begin with, students will increase the rate of unemployment of local residents. For example, when an international student found a job, the local residents will be lost one working opportunity. Also, employers are more likely to employ an international student. Because oversea students do not know the law of minimum salary, they may receive a lower salary than a local resident. Furthermore, international students may get hurt at work. For instance, an international student is doing a driver job, who drove into the tree accidently because of the rain weather. Thus, he hurt his leg and cannot move for some months. This accident will affect his student's study.

Many people believe that job is not suitable for international students. On the other hand, there are two advantages why international students should find a job. Firstly, International students could train English speaking skill during the job. For instance, when international students find a waiter job in a restaurant, they have to speak English with the customers or staffs during the job. Thus, they can increase the English-speaking skill effectively. Secondly, International students need to work for affording the cost of living. In details, the renting price of accommodation in Australia is very expensive. Living in student apartment is probably 400 dollars per week. That is quite hard for a student to afford the rents. Students can find a job to better the balance of personal bills.

It may be true that students can have a chance to speak more English at work. Also, they can earn some money from jobs. However, these benefits are not totally true. At first, some international students may speak the first language in some restaurants. If Japanese students find a job in a Japanese restaurant, they probably speak the Japanese language during the job. On the other hand, if students want to train their English-speaking skill. They could make more international friends who do not speak the same language from the class. In addition, International students could rent a house or apartment together to avoid the high price of accommodation. On the internet, some big houses have 4 to 6 bedrooms. If students find some friends to take a house together, they can save money on renting.

In summary, the controversial issue is that whether international students should have a right of doing a job. It should not happen. Because international students will decrease the chance of a job for the local residents. Also, it is easy for a student to get injured at work. On the other hand, international students could speak English with people from other countries. At the same time, they can share a house together to decrease the rents. Therefore, international students should not be allowed to find a job.

This is my first time to upload an essay.