The arguments for or against the freedom of information in science and academic world

IELTS 12 Test 5 writing task 2

Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, scientific research become both important and valuable. Some of the information is vital and wroth to be shared. However the problem is that should the information be shared freely as much as possible?

To start with, people supporting to share more information freely think that important scientific research information must be convinced to people. Scientists should share their information so others can check their research results. If they don't share the information, the vital research may not be replicated. The more error and problems would cause. Moreover, the strongest argument is often the academic freedom. Academics institutes and universities should have responsibilities to spread information as the education purposes.

On the other hand, other people think that there some situations should be limited. The first situation is business. Some companies have invested a lot of money and resources to get the research information so they always apply for the patents to protect it before they really make any profit on it . Another situation is about the country security. Some scientific research is about weapon , governments may keep these research secretly to protect the safety of their country. A other related point is timing,that the release of the information is controlled by the owner of that information. For example, the inventor, researcher or investor should have a period where they can take advantages on this knowledge for themselves before releasing it. Scientific research into drugs and medicine is a good example of this.

In conclusion, the arguments for the freedom of information in science and academic is good for the academic activities. However, when it comes to business issue or country security, the release of information should be restricted. Therefore, I partly support both of views.