IELTS Task 2 - Art education in high school?

Please help me with this essay! I'm still practicing. Big thank!

You should spend 40 minutes on this task.

Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important for children's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high school. Do you agree or disagree?

You should write at least 250 words.

school curriculum WITH OR WITHOUT ART

Art is without doubt an essential part of life, thus the assertion to add it to high school curriculum has its own validity. Personally, I believe such subjects of painting, drawing, or even sculpturing can make fantastic options in students' learning program.

It is clear that art classes can become a form of relaxation. More physically involved lessons give students a pleasant escape from the daily grind of academic subjects. Instead of getting stressed out with numbers and events, students can pour their hearts out with songs and pictures, which ultimately gives them a great boost of energy. More importantly, art lessons enhance students' creativity and sense of independence. No works of art are the same. Students are, in such classes, encouraged to produce and own their art. This results in students having stronger sense of self and being more willing to voice their opinion.

It, however, is undeniable that imposing art classes on high schoolers can be counter-productive. Students in such age group have already faced with a myriad of problems, either personal or learning-related. Consequently, making art compulsory might turn out as another burden for some students who simply show no interest or barely own any skills for it. Also, art lessons usually fail to equip students with adequate knowledge of the field to successfully produce anything in a limited amount of time. Thus, it can be a waste of time and money for both schools and students.

In summary, introducing art-related subjects in curriculum can do wonders to students' mental and physical development when being optional. What most students need is not a burden but a room for letting their hair down and being creative.