my art essay, parthenon vs pantheon

Parthenon vs. Pantheon

This is one of the essays I have to write for my art classes. I didn't even know a site like this existed. Awesome lol. This is a 2 page compare/contrast essay for the Parthenon and Panthenon. English is my second language so writing these papers isn't exactly a walk in the park. I have a lot of trouble with verb tense and consistency. I'm still working on this atm but I would appreciate any help x 10.

The Parthenon and Pantheon are both significant and innovative structures that have great importance during their respective times. The Parthenon was built between 447 and 438 B.C. in the Acropolis of Athens in Greece by Iktinos and Kallikrates (Pericles). And the Pantheon was built around 126 AD in Rome by Emperor Marcus Agrippa.They both come from two different cultures and times but show many similarities in their overall symbolism and meaning. Each temple is a good example of Greek and Roman architecture respectively.

One of the most notable differences between the two is their construction. While both illustrate geometric precision, they are stylistically different. The Parthenon is a Doric style temple consisting of a rectangular floor, several low steps and eight Doric style columns on each side (front and back). It is also characteristically thicker and more rectangular than the Panthenon with its oblong rooms and proportions. The cultural monument is made entirely from marble, with a limestone base. This temple is regarded one of the most important surviving buildings of Classical Greece and widely considered the zenith of the development of the Doric order.

The Pantheon has a few resembling features to the Parthenon but is overall much different. Like the Parthenon, in the front it has eight columns and a pediment (characteristic of Greek temples). It is very sharp and clean. However, the columns are Corinthian style, and in the back, there lies a massive, hemispherical dome (Janson 223). The Romans also focused much more on the interior of the building than the Greeks. Inside lies a highly decorated dome 43 meters in diameter and 43 memters from the floor to the top of the dome. The building is made from several materials more than the Parthenon such as marble, granite, concrete, and brick.

Both buildings had similar uses and were created with gods in mind. One of the Parthenon's main purposes was to house the statue of Athena Parthenon, the warrior Goddess of the Greek polis. In addition, it also provided an area for citizens to discuss ideas, politics and economics. The Panthenon was dedicated to all the gods or, more precisely, the seven gods of the seven planets. (Janson, 223) The Panthenon's literal translation means "Temple of all the gods". It was also created to "house tombs of the illustrious dead of a nation or memorials to them." (Janson, 900).