IELTS Writing Task 2: IS ART AN USEFUL SUBJECT TO STUDY?

the importance of art as a subject at school

Some people think that art is essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Individuals hold different opinions on the importance of art as a subject at school. While some question the value of studying art, others believe that it compliments the growth of students who think creatively. This essay will discuss why learning art is beneficial for children.

Art is considered as a waste of resources by some people. This is because they value the knowledge gained in other subjects like mathematics and science. Undertaking such subjects are believed to result in careers, such as doctors and engineers, that provide financial stability. Furthermore, in some communities, it increases their ranking in the social hierarchy. Hence, art is not encouraged by some individuals.

On the other hand, teaching art in school allows flexibility and creativity in learning. The greatest inventions are designed by creative thinkers, for example, aeroplanes designed by the Wright brothers. In addition, not all students are academically driven as their talent may lie in art or other subjects like music and drama. Therefore, the young students may feel motivated when they perform well in fields that they are naturally talented in. For these reasons, art is an essential subject for the development of some students.

In conclusion, whether art is a vital subject for students remains a controversial topic and has divided opinions. On one hand, certain people do not regard art as a beneficial subject to children; however, there are others who recognise its usefulness. I think art is an important component of education system which facilitates the different thinking and learning styles of children.