Ielts writing task 2: artificial intelligence - benefits and drawbacks - opinion.

growing influence of artificial intelligence on our life

Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Artificial intelligence is on the rise in recent years. While some people believe that it would bring considerable benefits to humans, others argue that great risks could be posed by this kind of intelligence. Personally, I am persuaded that artificial intelligence would be more beneficial rather than detrimental.

On the one hand, the fact that AI is processing rapidly could be seen as a threat to humankind. Due to its outstanding capacity of working, robots are likely to outperform humans at any cognitive tasks. Many people could, consequently, be at hazard for unemployment. For instance, doctors could lose their job as robots are more accurate and prudent at doing surgery and caring patients. Furthermore, if humans are no longer the smartest on the planet, we could not be sure whether we can continue to control the world or not.

On the other hand, Artificial Intelligence could definitely enhance humans' quality of life due to a noticeable number of advantages it offers. Firstly, it makes our life much convenient by automating everything. For example, while sitting in a self-driving car, people can either accomplish their work or take relaxation. Secondly, as AI has the ability to work ceaselessly and tirelessly with incredible speed, it can certainly boost the productivity in any field it works on. Finally, if humans are threatened with losing our occupations, they will be likely to work doggedly and thus improve their qualifications to compete with AI.

In conclusion, I believe that the positive effects offered by AI in terms of upgrading humans' living standard outweigh the disadvantages.