Artists' freedom to express their ideas

Artists should always be given the freedom to express their ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Revolution originates from the freedom of invention. I believe there is a right for artists to express their feelings with limited restrictions based on ethics and legislations.

There were a bunch of controversial performances as well as exhibitions I've heard of all over the world. The most impressive one for me should be a show held by Argentine artist, in which the audience was allowed to use everything she provided, including a gun, a knife and so forth, to do whatever they want to her during the 10-hour show. In her description this show hurt but changed herself a lot. This kind of performance went far beyond my imagination. If there is no respect to the freedom of expression, it could never happen.

On the other hand the governments such as the Chinese have made rules and rating systems in order to throttle the so-called political incorrect information from the public. Within these the government is enable to be well-controled on avoiding offensive, radical, or violent images from the people. But the result could turn out bad while the measures were taken wrong. For instance, the restrictions have gone too far on the case of Ai Wei-Wei, a significant icon in China.

In summary, I back on the artists' freedom to express their ideas and emotion if the artworks pose no threat to social order or physical health of the public.