Arts and humanities should not get less attention than science and technology do in schools today

IELTS Writing Task 2: Agree or Disagree essay

Here is my latest essay on IELTS Task 2. Please be free to leave your feedbacks. Thanks in advance.

Topic: Since science and technology are becoming more and more important in modern society, schools should spend more time on teaching these subjects rather than on arts and humanities. To what extent do you agree?

Based on the notion that science and technology have become increasingly essential in human life, some people believe that there would be many benefits if education gives more priority to these subjects. While I agree that these advantages are undeniable, this is not a sufficiently sound reason to neglect the importance of arts and humanities education.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why putting more emphasis on technological and scientific subjects in school's curriculum would be beneficial. Firstly, students would have more opportunities to broaden their knowledge in these two fields. Given the fact that there is a growing demand for jobs that require scientific and technological expertise nowadays, thus, students who are specialized in science and technology subjects would find it less challenging to find high-paid jobs. In addition to that, when students are equipped with technological and scientific knowledge, it is more likely that in the future, they will have brilliant inventions which are expected to make a major contribution to modern life.

However, it is also necessary to acknowledge the importance of arts and humanities to students. Arts and humanities are commonly believed to help them to gain a better vision of the past and how the world has changed over the time. Therefore, once students are well educated in these two fields, they would not only understand the mistakes made in the past but also be reflected upon the great things that the humanity has accomplished. Besides, it is widely believed that the ultimate mission of education should be the inclusive development of students, thus, arts and humanities deserve a fair share of school's curriculum.

In conclusion, based on reasons above, I believe that arts and humanities should not get less attention than science and technology do in schools today.