Should arts-related entertainment venues such as museums and art galleries be free?

Should arts-related entertainment venues such as museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge apply for admittance?

Art is a form of expressing one's inner thoughts in the form of music, dance, sculptures, and carvings on stone etc. In the olden days people used art as the means of communication. Today, in many museums and art galleries we could see the various things displayed for the people's attraction. The government spends a huge amount of money on expedition.

Museums and art galleries are important, as they give enormous amount of information and knowledge to the students. One would know about the tradition, culture and history of the places. One would become aware of the dressing and the clothes the earlier generations used, the weapons they used for self-protection and hunting, the mode of their transportation, mode of communication, the festivals one used to celebrate, the different ways one would express their joy, architecture and the materials used for the construction of houses, religion, the food they had for healthy living, the exchange of currency, the technology that existed etc. One can get the awareness of these things when they visit museums.

For example, the carnivorous and herbivores animal "dinasorous" became extinct long back. Most of the governments spend huge money on expedition and discovery of various things to know about the human evolution and these things are necessary to know our origin. The advancement of science and technology is based on the earlier generations. Whatever the knowledge one acquires is by comparing earlier generations with the current generation and what one has to do for a better future. Most of the current methodologies we use today were discovered ages before. For example, even today most of the people use pots to store cool water. Limestone is still being used for house constructions.

Student read a lot in books, but they can understand better by giving practical exposure like visiting museums, art galleries etc. In conclusion, I would say the government should charge a minimal amount for the maintenance and they can give exemption from charging visitors on special occasions. Moreover, these are the tourist's attraction and the places of education.