ESSAY:"The arts reveal the otherwise hidden ideas and impulses of a society."

Controversy surrounds the question of whether the artistic works, including the painting, music and literature and so on so forth, could reveal the hidden ideas and impulses of a society. Should that be true as the statement's claim and without any exception? Could be there still exist other possible facts which should be concerned? Undeniable, at the first glance, the assertion met with the general acceptance, and I consent insofar which definitely plays a crucial role in the society, no matter in the past or at the contemporary era. Nevertheless, there exists a host of other possible facts which need to be taken into account for strengthening this statement.

To commence, it is true that art works are incontrovertibly part and parcel in the principle of revealing the thoughts behind society for it could provide the different angles for us to value our world. Virtually, art, perhaps the oldest definition is to provide us pleasure, appreciate the eternal beauty and inspire our imagination. For example, Van Gogh's famous painting "Sunflowers" which contains the bright yellow color and thick line exhibits his unique personality of enthusiasm and sympathy. Beethoven's famous symphony No.5 Destiny delivers a spirit about facing frustration and fighting the destiny for ones' dream and hope, thus convulsing the whole world. Also, have been experienced the Napoleon's fail, the "Faust" written by Goethe provides the other ways of examination for our life. Not from these artistic opuses, neither the aesthetic nor the philosophy thoughts would be valued. Therefore, these art works sever the vital part of principle to our society, such as wheels are to a car, or ink is to a pen.

In spite of the merits as the statement's claim, however, I could not totally agree the statement because it defies simple logic and neglects the real situation we are in. For one thing, art works are sometimes kinds of imagination work that cannot reveal the real image of society, but provides another way for pleasuring ourselves. For example, the famous novel "Harry Potter" is so fascinating for its magic world and the way it inspires our imagination, but from this interesting work, it could not provide us the clear view to value our society and let alone advance it development.

On the other hand, it might incur the debasing impact, if we merely and exorbitantly focusing on the achievements of art and ignoring the development of other realms. As a matter of fact, art is neither the only factor nor the most important field to help us to discover the mystery world. Experience as human beings inform us there exists so many factors, such as the basic science, philosophy, history and astronomy and so on so forth, also contribute to reveal the truth around the world and better our life. Consider, for example, Isaac Newton announced the three general motion laws which opened the new chapter in the physics world and advanced the process of Industrial Revolution. Suppose that if for no these efforts from other fields besides art, how could our society will progress and harmonious as we see today?

Admittedly, it is wise and justifiable to realize the importance of art works and place proper emphasis on its development, and which actually contributes our world better. However, bearing proper attitude to appreciate those works could insofar help us to understand the world, but only concentrate on art works while without concerning other realms would obstruct the development of society. Virtually, in the complex and changing world, various fields usually need to help each for leading the society moving forward. Consequently, it would be a disaster is we merely focus on the information delivering by the art works for trying to understand the overall attitude in terms of the real face of society.

To conclude, I concede the speaker's claim that many artistic works could express some particular situations hidden in the society and also arouse the inspiration of human beings to realize the eternal beauty. However, it overrates the weightiness of the art works, and which seems to be the only and the best approach for displaying the social value and its real face. In the final analysis, the appreciated attitude of treating art works, on a personal note, should be a balance one that considers all other factors in the society which might also bring the potential influences to reveal the real value behind it and take all possible conditions into account.