St Augustine was the first individual who read silentlz; A silent force

Hope to recieve commends from you.

There was a legend that St Augustine was the first individual who read silently rather than aloud, semi-aloud. Reading as it was in St Augustine's day. There was a time when reading is a menial job of scribes and priests, not mark of civilization it became in Europe during the Renassance when it was seen as one of the civilized individual.

Literacy influences the economic of countries today. While the Western countries have been seen decline of this area, other less developed countries have advanced, in some case, overtaken the western countries. European countries have satisfied with their laurels in the past for too long, so they need to look for the suitable solutions.

Reading is an economic force. It is the bedrock of economic advancement, particularly in the present technological age. Studies have illustrates that the benifit to the economic by increasing the literacy and numeracy skills of primary school children generally is in billions of pounds in UK.

Part of the problem with reading is that it is not appreciated in most developed societies. This attitude is that has condemned large of population in Western countries to illiteracy. The attitude to reading amongst young also have a big influence. Students at school, college usually give a name for students who read many books called bookworms. The solitude of reading seems not appealing as sitting in front of computer screens or a Walkman. Peer pressure among young people is so powerful. It can kill any attempts to change attitudes to habits like reading.

In conclusion, I think if all of us are become bookworms, why not?