TOEFL essay: The automobile is destroying our quality of life.

please,guy, check my essay and tell me your opinion on its essence and structure, as well as grammar and vocabulary.

From the very moment of construction and release to masses an automobile became one of the most popular and demanded invention of twentieth century and acquired wide use all over the world. Although it has few advantages, such as the ability to deliver people and cargo to the point of destination for relatively little amount of time, disadvantages outnumber positive characteristics of an automobile. For that reason I consider it to destroy the quality of the human life.

One of the problems is the constant and disproportionate to population increase in number of automobiles on streets and roads of big cities, the natural consequence of which are long lines of traffic jams. They slow down traffic movement and significantly hinder the speed of automobiles, in fact minimizing the sole advantage of last to deliver people timely and rapidly to the point of destination. For example, very often I was late to lectures and once to very important meeting, because of traffic jams, that become frequent in my city during the last ten years. Many of world's largest metropolises, such as Moscow, London and New York suffer from traffic jams, as well as my home city.

But the main disadvantage of automobiles is that they are considered to be one of the primary sources of the air pollution. Gases that exhaust from automobiles engines spread over big territories and come into reaction with other gases in the air, the result of which is the formation of smog, which is poisonous to human health. For example, when people wait in traffic jams and breathe gases that release from engines of cars in front of them, it could result in various deceases from irritation to eyes to lung cancer. Moreover, it prevents the exchange of heat between the Earth and the atmosphere, causing greenhouse effect, which leads to huge change in climate and destroys the biosphere. What makes things worse is that damage caused could not be seen at once, but reveals itself after long period of time when it becomes too late.

Therefore, I thing that negative impacts of automobiles far more exceed positive ones and surely decrease the quality of life of population, especially those living in cities.