IELTS WRITING TASK 2_ Avantages and Disadvantages of owning a smartphone.

Pros and cons of smartphones

There is no doubt that owning a smartphone is gaining in popularity. This trend has both positive and negative aspects which will be examined below.

On the one hand, there are some undeniable advantages of owning a modern mobile device. Firstly, it helps people to have more means of communication. My friend, for example, when studying abroad, can either make a phone call or send text messages in the blink of an eye to his parents to keep in touch, instead of sending letters which often took days to reach the destination. Therefore, thanks to smartphones, they can stay connected much more easily, regardless of location. Secondly, by providing a wide range of applications, a smartphone is also a great tool for entertaining. For instance, after a hard-working day, my father usually watches his favorite films or listens to music on Youtube, Spotify and Netflix as a way to relax and relieve his stress.

On the other hand, owning such a cutting-edge gadget also brings numerous disadvantages. The first shortcoming is that smartphone can be highly addictive. For example, many studies and research have shown that American adults utilize their phones excessively in a day to check for new notifications and messages from Facebook or Twitter. This overuse of mobile device has proved to not only interferes with their work but also contribute to anxiety, depression and other mental-health problems. Another major drawback is that smartphone use while driving can increase the risk of car accident. As when the driver decides to check his or her text messages, phone calls and emails, they often take their eyes off the road. Consequently, they fail to keep a proper lookout and to pay attention to surrounding dangers because of distractions caused by the cell phone, and are more like to cause an accident.

In conclusion, although owning a smartphone can assist users in communicating and entertaining, this tendency also causes several negative points.