Looking back for an understanding of the past

How about this artical?

Thank you for reading and your advice!

TOP: GRE ISSUE 192

"So much is new and complex today that looking back for an understanding of the past provides little guidance for living in the present."

It is such point of view that the ways of thinking of many people deviate from, since our everyday life are going on rather than going back. In my point of view, I do not agree with the opinion stated above for some obvious reasons.

In the first place, the reason why I have such a view is that those who have become history make what we have today. Just imagine what life today would be like without predecessors' effort. We can not fly in the sky without the Wright brothers' invention of the world's first successful airplane. We could not start explore our universe and if Copernicus did not tell us that, against the long-standing faith in the world, the universe is not going around our earth. The development of technology would also be delay without Franklins' discovery of electricity. We could not have better life without those improvements in science. Like the words said by Isaac Newton: If I have seen further it is by standing on ye shoulders of Giants. People are going on the research based on their results to complete more contributions. Jet plane and supersonic plane allow us to fly from the one side to another side in earth. Power stations provide us the controllable energy source as one of the replacement of limited fossil fuel. The rapid improvement of Astronomy let us to send explorer to mars and message receiver away form our solar system to infinite universe. Even more and more projects are still going on, allow human beings to know more about the universe, to find the most possible and appropriate living place for our space migration and to make our dream of space migration come true in the end. Those achievements will not be attained if we don't looking back for an understanding of the past.

In the second place, we should keep in mind that history is like the mirror, reflecting the mistakes forerunner have made. To avoid wasting time on repeating same errors we must examine the past. A practical example for this is just like my chemistry researching experience. To start the first reaction, we made a plan, of which we maintain the gist of project, that descript the whole pathway we are going to go through. At same time, we did literature survey to scrutinize what problem would occur and what would be the critical question remain to be answered while we try to do the similar procedures. Of course, as we went forward, we always found different flaws in the whole pathway made in our first plan. But many were truly avoided due to the help of literature. This is the point why we should do the research survey and the reason why cases studied by these forerunners were of value.

Consequently, due to the above-mentioned reasons, it is not difficult to draw the conclusion that the whole history is accumulated by the success and the mistakes they made. Thus, we should take advantages and avoid the flaws of that because the understandings of the past provide helpful guidance for living in the present