Ban on Smoking / Advantage and Disadvantage-IELTS

Essay Question:Some businesses now say that no one can smoke cigarettes in any of their offices. Some governments have banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it takes away some of our freedom. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is harmful to the individual as well as the environment.Many organizations and the governments of most of the countries have banned smoking in work and public places in order to protect their employers and citizens.Although,many people believe that this is the best approach to save the environment some argue that it curbs the right of an individual.

On one hand,smoking banned in public places is beneficial to passive smokers who acquire diseases due to people smoking around them.For example in India,this has lead to massive reduction in smoking related diseases like tuberculosis and lung cancer.There is a saying called "Prevention is better than cure".Government of India is using it's expenditure to impose these laws and in creating awareness instead of spending on drugs to cure these diseases.In Companies,productivity has increased since most of the time is used efficiently and effectively.Air pollution has come down and the incidence of infertility for which one of the main cause is smoking has also reduced.

On the other hand,the nature of human psychology is that when we attempt to control someone,they will overdo it.Youngsters and teenagers will try to explore believing that this is their right and therefore leads to behavioral and addiction problems.In order to protect their rights,governments of nations can build secluded areas especially meant for smoking to safeguard both the environment and the human rights.This is already in vogue in many of the developed countries.

To conclude,in my opinion,smoking which is detrimental to the soceity should be banned by implementing laws and educating the public through media and newspapers.I disagree with the fact that it curbs the freedom of an individual.