"beauty is in fact in the eyes of the beholder" - O level essay BEAUTY

From time immemorial, appearance has been foremost in humans' minds. Either it be centuries before BC, or today in this every-modernizing society, humans are judged by their physical appearance. Women appraised by their beauty before being wed to bachelors or men judged by their looks in job interviews are a few evidences that we are indeed living in a jaundiced society who lay great emphasis on outer appearance, or most specifically, one's beauty. Thus, it is not surprising to witness mankind, especially women from all walks of life desperately try any means possible to achieve the perfect beauty. The looming question mark would be, is such extensive measures taken necessary and truly worth it in the end?

As a wise man once said, 'Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder", I am of the opinion that beauty should not be defined as physical appearance solely. In fact, beauty is defined specifically by dictionary as a characteristic that provides a perceptual experience of pleasure and happiness. It has no relation to features of our face or body, but rather character traits and qualities. Therefore it is high time for us, especially women in this society to realize this fact and change our perception of the way we see beauty. What should be regarded as requisite in someone would be pleasant character traits, or some might name it as inner beauty.

Nevertheless, such notion was ignored and dismissed as naive thoughts by the majority. Humans prefer to put themselves in the relentless chase to pursue perfect beauty. Plastic surgery is an instance of means used to acquire it. in order to attain high bridged nose, rosy cheek, or voluptuous body that many people desire, some are willing to put themselves under the knife. in fact this issue has engendered plethora of discourses as recent study has shown that there is an alarming increase of the number of young adults partaking this practice.this is especially so in US and Korea triggered by the boom happening in the country.

What some have failed to realize is the possibility of adverse effects from the surgery. Although plastic surgery may reconstruct our facial features to fufill our desire, there is no complete guarantee of success. A number of cases revolving around contorted face is evidence of such. Thus, we should keep wary eyes and take precautions.

In a nutshell, although some perceive beauty as physical appearance, beauty is in fact in the eyes of the beholder, thus it could not be defined or appraised as easily. How each of us see beauty is subjective as it depends on the individual. As it has been said by William Downey, 'Judge nothing by the appearance. THe more beautiful the serpent, the more fatal its sting'.