It has become easy to prepare food now days but has this improved our lives?

There is no doubt about the fact that our physical well being depends on our eating habits and lifestyle. Our body requires proper nourishment to function properly. Traditionally cooking food woud be a tedious and cumbersome task. But overtime this has been replaced with quick, processed food available in the market. However, is this food good for us?

Well, I dont believe the food we are eating nowadays is healthy. Firstly, lets talk about the hormone enriched vegetables and meat that is on the rise to cater to our large demands. Artificial hormones are added to boost crop or meat production. But these hormones have detrimental effects on our body. Secondly, food manufacturing industries add all sorts of chemicals and preservatives to increase shelf life of food. Some of them may not be suitable for our body. Traditionally every ingredient that went into making of a dish was hand picked, so we were able to use the best and the freshest product. But, most foods in the stores may not be fresh. Also they may be processed to such an extent that their nutritional value would be far too low to meet the body's demand.

Junk food consumption is also on the rise nowadays owing to the ease of their preparation. But they have tremendous detrimental effect on the body. They are one of the main cause of diseases such as diabetes, hypertension and obesity, and they can lead to death eventually. If the consumption of such foods goes unmonitored, the average life span of most people would decrease.

Thus, modern approach to prepare food may save us a little time at hand, but it does not guarantee our physical wellbeing. Its important to know what goes into the food preparation that we are consuming and whether its good for our body or not. If we pay attention to what we eat and prepare it healthy, we can avoid falling sick.